Okay maybe start of postdoc application season isn’t write since two of the big ones were due last week and I applied for others before that. Current application count is 5, I have another 2 upcoming and 1 or 3 I’m a tad squiffy on. Doing asteroids is difficult for postdocs though- what I study look like point sources in the images so the planetary people don’t really want me and the astrophysics people can get a little high and mighty about the solar system not being astrophysics because it’s too close. . .or because they think it doesn’t involve any physics or telescopes. How wrong they are (as you can see by the banner at the top of the page which is constructed from 3 telescope frames showing the tracks of newly discovered asteroids in sets of RGB)!  I’m all about the use of telescopes and you have to use basic physics to determine orbits and they can tell you interesting thing about the chemistry of the proto-planetary nebula. Thankfully I’m studying main belt asteroids so we have the potential to test theoretical models of giant planet migration in our own solar system with them which means I can play the extrasolar planets angle. I just have my fingers crossed that it can get me a job.

Of course before I get a job, I have to finish my dissertation! Today my computer probably ran about 8 million calculations and I started my next journal article. I just have to write this article and two more and I’m home free. Well except for that observing run next week and that small astronomy conference in January in DC where I have to make a poster and help out one of the undergrads in our group with hers as well.

Perhaps tomorrow I’ll write an entry on a journal article- either recent or posted on astro-ph. I read two from astro-ph this past week today but I spent too much time backtracking to referenced articles or looking for ones that really should have been referenced to actually write a thoughful post.

