I see when I wrote my last post it was right after the AAS meeting, and here I am taking a breather while trying to help my spousal unit figure out WordPress for a food/restaurant review blog. Sweet FSM save us all.

The latest paper draft seems fairly well put together except one major question mark and I actually have the auxillary data for that running on the desktop. This dataset however almost violates the “don’t use data that you are” rule. I may be a grad student, but I did take 3 yrs off between undergrad and grad, so that means I’m using data from the early 80s. I have my fingers crossed the referee while just say something to the effect of “yep, okay, but check your references” like the referee did for my first every journal article in undergrad.

I’ve now been rejected for 3 out of the 10 postdocs I’ve applied for and I can’t say I’m all that surprised. One was a long shot and I feel like it’s very odd that the extrasolar planet people have busted in on our DPS meetings, yet still don’t see the sense in some of us solar system people looking at predicted outcomes from models of our solar system that could easily be applied to what they’re finding now.  I sort of don’t expect to get a postdoc this year given the economy, so it’s been pretty nice to sit back and watch the snarking on the astronomy rumor mill- first the allegations of nepotism and now the fighting about academic vs non academic astronomers. Considering the 3 years I worked between undergrad and grad school has a lot of people doing what many would term non-astronomy mission support in jobs that were either 50% mission 50% science or 60/40s, I find it interesting that there is a tiff now online about what counts as a successful career. Don’t get me wrong, I love doing science, but teaching I could take or leave, and at least with mission support you could expect a new challenge on a regular basis. Admittedly it could be a challenge that made you cross your eyebrows and ask Whiskey Tango Foxtrot, but it would be something new to thing about.

But right now my brain should be in all science mode. I’ve got two more papers to write and submit for this dissertation and another 2 chapters of rough cut data whacking to throw in the dissertation since I’m not thrilled about submitting the papers affiliated with those, especially the non detection one. Oh and tomorrow’s chore: determining if HST is worth my time. I saw the Spitzer call went out today and for the first time in 5 years I may just pass it up, because my referee’s comments have said little about the science but have snarked me for being an upitty grad student.

