So in the last week when I haven’t been posting, I’ve been working on my DPS poster (which is just about done and about to go to Kinkos!) and a related article draft. During this whole time my laptop has been cranking the music.

I’ll admit, I have the worst taste in music. When working I tend to use my purchased library from iTunes that consists of Britney Spears, Lady Gaga, Ke$ha and Christina Aguilera. If I’m really angry I put Garbage’s Bleed Like Me album on repeat. I think my fellow grad students at University of the Frozen Tundra are grateful I’m not around especially as I have a slightly bad habit of singing along with my music if I’m deep into doing my work and I really don’t notice when I do that and am using headphones.

But in the last few weeks my phone has been ringing off the hook- the advisor and I have a few too many irons in the fire so we’ve been skyping and cell phoning often. I know it’s my advisor because Daft Punk’s Technologic is my ringtone for him. I think it’s fitting with the lyrics “Write it, cut it, paste it, save it, Load it, check it, quick – rewrite it”. Yeah that’s basically my life dealing with my advisor. It took me a while to decide on that ringtone for him however- I had contemplated Depeche Mode’s Personal Jesus as the advisor is the one that tells me to keep plugging on even when I’m pissy about job applications or paper reviews. Lately I’ve been thinking of changing to Gaga’s Telephone- the section with Beyonce singing about how she should left her phone at home because this is a disastah, but I don’t think I’ll do that until after the DPS or else I might have to explain the ringtone to collaborators (Eeek!).

But now I’m curious- what music did other astronomers and planetary scientists use when they were writing up? Do they still listen to that music during time crunches? Because god knows. . .I don’t know how I’d explain being 40 years old and rocking out to the Britney.

